Umesh, Shami return for first three Australia ODIs

Umesh, Shami return for first three Australia ODIs

Squad: Virat Kohli (Captain), Rohit Sharma (vice-captain), Shikhar Dhawan, KL Rahul, Manish Pandey, Kedar Jadhav, Ajinkya Rahane, MS Dhoni (wk), Hardik Pandya, Axar Patel, Kuldeep Yadav, Yuzvendra Chahal, Jasprit Bumrah, Bhuvneshwar Kumar, Umesh Yadav, Mohammed Shami.

(BCCI) announced a 16-member squad, on Sunday (September 10), for the the first three ODIs of the upcoming five-match series against Australia, starting September 17 in Chennai. The MSK Prasad-led selection committee brought back frontline pacers Mohammad Shami and Umesh Yadav, while rewarding the bright performances of left-arm spinner Axar Patel and legspinner Yuzvendra Chahal in the recently concluded ODI series in Sri Lanka, by giving them an extended run.

As expected, Ravichandran Ashwin and Ravindra Jadeja continue to be rested. During this phase though, Ashwin will continue to sharpen his trade in the County circuit with his stint at Worcestershire. India also left out paceman Shardul Thakur after he played a couple of games against Sri Lanka, during which he returned just one wicket.

“The team for the three ODIs against Australia has been selected in line with the rotation policy of the Board and accordingly R Ashwin and Ravindra Jadeja have been rested. The team’s performance during the Sri Lanka tour was outstanding and players like Axar Patel and Yuzvendra Chahal, who performed very well are being given an extended run and this will in turn supplement our approach, to build a strong reserve strength, as we prepare for forthcoming tours,” MSK Prasad, the chairman of selection committee said.

Click to comment

Most Popular

To Top