Gayle, Cottrell lead Patriots to CPL 2017 final

Gayle hit a match-winning fifty.

Brief scores: St Kitts and Nevis Patriots 149/7 in 20 overs (Chris Gayle 54*, Brandon King 30; Dwayne Bravo 4-38) beat Trinbago Knight Riders 111 in 19.3 overs (Darren Bravo 29, Dwayne Bravo 24; Sheldon Cottrell 3-17) by 38 runs.

The two skippers, Chris Gayle and Dwayne Bravo, as to who would give their respective sides bragging rights at the Brian Lara Stadium in Trinidad. As it turned out, it was a close call as both played their parts to perfection in the first Qualifier of the Caribbean Premier League 2017; Dwayne with a four-wicket haul accompanied by a 24-run cameo, and Gayle with an unbeaten half-century, two catches and a wicket.

Sri Lanka vs India, Only T20I – Live Cricket Score

But, it was St Kitts and Nevis Patriots that came out triumphant over Trinbago Knight Riders comfortably on Tuesday (September 5), securing a spot in the CPL 2017 final with a 38-run win, bowling the hosts out for 111.

In defence of 149, Patriots got off to the perfect start running Sunil Narine out in the first over. In the absence of Brendon McCullum, who was ruled out of the tournament with a broken arm, Knight Riders struggled as the New Zealand opener was crucial in getting them off to solid starts. In his absence, it was a sorry tale with them being reduced to 6 for 3 as Sheldon Cottrell and Ben Hilfenhaus struck in successive overs, with a maiden wicket for the latter.

Click to comment

Most Popular

To Top