CPL 2017: Trinbago Knight Riders beat St Kitts and Nevis Patriots in final

SNP 135/6 (20.0 Ovs)
TKR 136/7 (19.0 Ovs)

Kevan Cooper is the hero. He is in tears. Two sixes and a couple of boundaries to turn it around. He has made TKR the champions. They needed 33 of 18 and then 22 off 12. They win by six balls remaining. What a win!
KNIGHT RIDERS WIN BY 3 WICKETS! What a turnaround in the last four deliveries. TKR are your CPL 2017 champions

Dwayne Bravo – Thanks to the almighty god, thanks to the people who came out in huge support. Credit to the team, they played hard and deserved to win, as for myself, not exactly feeling well, but this has been fantastic. Happy that we made the country proud, they have always backed us. We had specific plans for both Gayle and Lewis – credit to the analysts. The plan was to bowl full to Evin and it paid off. We wanted to go out there, stick to the plans and go further. I was a bit nervous (at 90/7), but I think this team is destined for greatness. We play as a team, we enjoy each other’s success, we are a family, we never needed Cooper a lot before with the bat, but he came good when we needed it. We perform as a team, someone or the other comes to the party whenever we need it. Trinidad and Tobago – this is for you. Thank You very much.

Dwayne Bravo leads his team as they receive the medals..
Chris Gayle – Congrats to Dwayne (Bravo) and his team, they were magnificent throughout the tournament. To the St.Kitts people, to the owners and to the team – you were fantastic and I am so proud of you guys. You were outstanding and it’s disappointing that we couldn’t apply the finishing touches. Both myself and Lewis didn’t get going tonight. It’s easy to say we were 20 runs short, but we were in the game until the last two overs. Credit to Ramdin and Cooper, proud of the team’s efforts. Not upset with the 19th over, the dew had taken effect and it was difficult to grip the ball. Harsh to blame Hilfy for the over, they had some momentum going into the over. A lot of credit goes to Simmons and the coaching staff. Not sure where I will be in the next year, but this has been a wonderful journey.


Kevon Cooper is the Man of the Match
Evin Lewis gets the award for most sixes
Chadwick Walton gets the award for the ‘Stylish moment’

Click to comment

Most Popular

To Top