IPL 2018

IPL 2018, Preview: MI Look To End Losing Streak, Face RCB In High Class Clash

Mumbai Indians (MI) will try to get their first points of the 2018 Indian Premier League (IPL) season when they host a beleaguered Royal Challengers Bangalore in an IPL 2018 match at the Wankhede Stadium on Tuesday.
RCB started off on the losing note to Kolkata Knight Riders but brought their campaign on track immediately with a convincing victory over Kings XI Punjab at home and then lost a high-scoring game to Rajasthan Royals at home on Sunday.

Weaknesses: Against Rajasthan Royals, RCB’s pace attack was taken to the cleaner and they need to address these concerns as MI possess a strong batting unit. Umesh Yadav, who bowled superbly against KXIP, leaked 59 runs in his four overs.

On the other hand, MI’s batting has failed to fire in unison. The move to promote Suryakumar Yadav worked wonders but the momentum was lost later on. Skipper Rohit Sharma hasn’t lit up the tournament and a big score is on the cards.

Players to watch out for: Tearaway seamer Adam Milne has joined the ranks of Mumbai and it will interesting to see if he gets a game. The Pandya brothers – Hardik and Krunal are yet to make an impact in the first three games. After picking up the wicket of MS Dhoni, rookie leg-spinner Mayank Markande will be hoping to add Virat Kohli in his list of prized victims.

For RCB skipper Virat Kohli returned to form with his fastest fifty on Sunday. Whether he continues to fire will be worth watching. Young Washington Sundar is still fairly new to the IPL but has grabbed the limelight with a couple of impressive performances. MI also need to be wary of AB De Villiers as he has scored more than 500 runs against MI.


Mumbai Indians: Rohit Sharma(c), Jasprit Bumrah, Hardik Pandya, Kieron Pollard, Mustafizur Rahman, Suryakumar Yadav, Krunal Pandya, Ishan Kishan, Rahul Chahar, Evin Lewis, Saurabh Tiwary, Ben Cutting, Pradeep Sangwan, Jean-Paul Duminy, Tajinder Singh, Sharad Lumba, Siddhesh Lad, Aditya Tare, Mayank Markande, Akila Dhananjaya, Anukul Roy, Mohsin Khan, MD Nidheesh, Mitchell McClenaghan, Adam Milne.

Royal Challengers Bangalore: Virat Kohli(c), Quinton de Kock(w), Brendon McCullum, AB de Villiers, Sarfaraz Khan, Mandeep Singh, Chris Woakes, Washington Sundar, Kulwant Khejroliya, Umesh Yadav, Yuzvendra Chahal, Colin de Grandhomme, Moeen Ali, Manan Vohra, Aniket Choudhary, Navdeep Saini, Murugan Ashwin, Pawan Negi, Mohammed Siraj, Corey Anderson, Parthiv Patel, Aniruddha Joshi, Pavan Deshpande, Tim Southee.

Click to comment

Most Popular

To Top