Champions Trophy

New Zealand aim to hit the ground running- Williamson

New Zealand aim to hit the ground running- Williamson


The final-four of the 50-over World Cup in 1975, 1979, 1992, 1999, 2007 and 2011. The Brendon McCullum-led New Zealand side also clashed with Australia in the summit clash in the 2015 World Cup.

New Zealand also won the ICC Champions Trophy once in 2000 (it was then called the ICC Knockout Trophy), when Chris Cairns reigned supreme to pilot them home by four wickets against India in Nairobi. Fast forward to 2017, where the perennial dark horses will look for a repeat performance and hoist the coveted Champions Trophy in England.

Read Next

“It is a very interesting tournament having played in it before and everyone is a real contender so you need to play with freedom, be prepared to take the game and hope things land in your favour,” he observed.
“England are playing some very good cricket and it is an improved brand in comparison to what it did in the ICC Cricket World Cup. It is an exciting team to watch it – they will be a threat,” he added.

Click to comment

Most Popular

To Top